Jananeta Hijam Irawat Singh

A commemorative postage stamp on the Birth Anniversary of Hijam Irabot :

1648 Jananeta Hijam Irawat Singh [India Stamp 1998]Issued by India

Issued on Sep 30, 1998

Issued for : The Department of Posts is happy to release this commemorative postage stamp in the honour of this great leader on his birth anniversary.

Credits :
Stamp Design
 : Based on matter received from Communist Party of India (Marxist) Manipur State Committee.
FDC & Cancellation : Alka Sharma

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Single Colour

Denomination : 300 Paise

Overall size : 3.91 x 2.90 cms.

Printing size : 3.55 x 2.54 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Imported un w/m Adhesive Gravure Coated Stamp Paper in sheets 50.8 x 53.5 cms.

Stamps Printed : 0.4 Million

Number per issue sheet : 35

Printing Process : Photogravure

Printer : India Security Press, Nashik

Name : Hijam Irabot Singh

Born on Sep 30, 1896 at Hijam Leikai, Manipur, India

Died on Sep 26, 1951 at Tangbaw, Myanmar

About : 

  • Under Irawat’s leadership the women’s movement was transformed into a political agitation. On 9th January 1940 Irawat was arrested and imprisoned in Imphal jail, later transferred to Sylhat jail. On release from Sylhat jail on March 20, 1943 his entry was banned into his beloved motherland Manipur by the Manipur Durbar. He stayed in Cachar and worked to organise the peasants movements. He became the Secretary and later the Chairman of the Surma Valley Kisan Sabha.
  • In 1948 he was elected to the Manipur State Assembly. Irawat Singh was the pioneer of social reforms and modern Manipuri literature. He was not only a mass political leader, but also a cultural leader who helped to build up the Indian People’s Theatre Association (IPTA) in Manipur and Surma Valley. Recognising his contributions in literature he was conferred Sahitya Ratana, posthumously, by the Manipuri Sahitya Parishad.
  • He died on September 26, 1951 at Tangbaw village near the border of Burma.
  • Text : Based on matter received from Communist Party of India (Marxist) Manipur State Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *