Back To Top

 Bhim Sen Sachar

Bhim Sen Sachar

A commemorative postage stamp on Bhim Sen Sachar2nd Chief Minister of Punjab (1949, 1952-56) :

Bhimsen Sachar (भीमसेन सच्चर) : 2nd Chief Minister of PunjabIssued by India

Issued on Aug 14, 1986

Issued for : The Department of Posts feels privileged to issue a commemorative stamp in honour of Shri Bhim Sen Sachar in the Series, India’s struggle for freedom.

Description of Design : The 50p multicolour stamp has been designed by India Security Press, Nashik Road. The First Day Cover has been designed by Shri Kashinath Raha and the cancellation design has been prepared by Mrs. Alka Sharma.

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Multi Colour

Denomination : 50 Paise

Overall size : 4.06 x 2.73 cms.

Printing size : 3.71 x 2.38 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Indigenous Unwatermarked P.G. coated and gummed stamp paper

Number printed : 15,00,000

Number per issue sheet : 40

Printing process : Photogravure

Printed at : India Security Press

Name : Bhim Sen Sachar

Born on Dec 1, 1894 at Peshawar, British India [now in Pakistan]

Died on Jan 18, 1978

About : 

  • Shri Bhim Sen Sachar was born on December 1, 1894. He was educated at Lahore where he took his B.A. and L.L.B. degrees and started practicing in Gujranwala.
  • In 1921 Shri Sachar became the Secretary, Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee. He was the Registrar in National University, Lahore and later in 1924-33, he was the Municipal Commissioner, Gujranwala.
  • Responding to the call of the Mahatma Gandhi for civil disobedience, Shri Bhim Sen Sachar joined hands with freedom fighters and was imprisoned from 1930-31. He shifted to Lahore and started the Sunlight Insurance Company.
  • In 1937, he was elected as a Member to the Punjab Legislative Assembly. At the call of Mahatma Gandhi offering individual civil-disobedience, he went to the prison in 1940. He was elected leader of the Congress Party, Punjab Legislative Assembly. He again went to jail in 1942 in Quit India Movement launched by the Congress and remained in jail for over a year. In 1945 General elections he was elected unopposed to Punjab Assembly from the constituency of Lahore. He was also elected the leader of the Congress Legislative Party.
  • In 1947, he was elected as Member, Constituent Assembly of Pakistan from West Punjab.
  • Shri Sachar became the Chief Minister of Punjab, in 1949. In 1952 general election, he was elected member of Punjab Assembly from Ludhiana city constituency. He again became the Chief Minister of Punjab from 1952-56. He was appointed Governor of Orissa from September 1956 to July 1957 and later the Governor of Andhra Pradesh from 1959- 1962. He was the High Commissioner for India in Ceylon during 1964-66.
  • He also held the offices of Chairman of Guru Nanak Foundation, Punjab and Chairman of Khadi Gram Udyog Sangh. He died on 18th January, 1978.
Prev Post

Pakistan Independence Day 1986

Next Post

Japan on International Federation of Library Associations

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x