Back To Top

 Pakistan on Aga Khan Award for Architecture 1980
October 23, 1980

Pakistan on Aga Khan Award for Architecture 1980

A commemorative postage stamp on the 1st Aga Khan Award for Architecture :

Shalimar Bagh (Gardens), LahoreIssued by Pakistan

Issued on Oct 23, 1980

Issued for : Pakistan Post Office is issuing a stamp of Rs. 2/- denomination to commemorate The First Aga Khan Award for Architecture.

Designer : Adil Salahuddin

Type : Stamp, Postal Used

Denomination : Rs. 2/-

Colours : Yellow, Blue, Red and Black

Size of Stamp : 48 x 40.67 m.m.

Size of Print : 45 x 37.67 m.m.

Perforation : 13½ x 13 (C)

Quantity : 500,000

No. of stamps in one sheet : 48 (forty-eight)

Process of Printing : Litho Offset

Printers : Pakistan Security Printing Corporation

About : 

  • His Highness the Aga Khan established the Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1977. The main purpose of the award is to encourage architectural excellence in the Islamic world. The award, carrying an amount upto $ 500,000 would be given after every 3 years for completed projects in the areas of Housing, Public Buildings and Community Planning. The award will be conferred in recognition of projects which demonstrate architectural excellence at all levels. Award-winning buildings must preserve the traditional character and identity of a region and reflect the demands and aspirations of the twentieth century. This award also seeks to publicise the successful buildings as models of architectural excellence throughout the Muslim world.
  • The nominations for the award-winning projects were made by local professionals throughout the Muslim world from Morocco to Indonesia. Approximately 200 projects were screened and evaluated by a team of technical experts. The final recommendations were then considered by the Award Master Jury, a distinguished international panel of architects and planners from both Muslim and non-Muslim world. The Master Jury selected the criteria for winning projects from the five seminars which took place in the Muslim world under the auspices of the Aga Khan Award. The seminars provided an opportunity to bring together professionals representing many disciplines, and dealing with important topics in contemporary Islamic Architecture such as conservation, housing, symbolism and public spaces.
  • The Master Jury has finally met and selected the winners of the First Aga Khan Award for Architecture. The award will be given at a ceremony in Lahore, Pakistan, on 23rd October, 1980, in a public function to be held in Shalimar Gardens. Besides the prize distribution ceremony the posters of the winning projects will also be displayed.
  • Issued by: The Director General, Pakistan Post Office, Islamabad.
Prev Post

35th National Athletic Meeting of Japan

Next Post

Nepal on World Tourism Conference 1980

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
July 1, 2023 5:38 pm

[…] monuments including some of the finest specimens of Muslim architecture namely the Badshahi Mosque, Shalimar Garden, Jahangir’s Mausoleum, the Royal Fort with its fabulous ‘hall of mirrors’. It is […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x