Indian Temple Architecture 2003

Complete Set of 4 nos of postage stamps on the Hindu Temple Architecture of India : 1987 Temple Architecture [India Setenant Stamp 2003]

Issued by India

Issued on Sep 15, 2003

Issued for : The Department celebrates the variety and diversity of India’s Temple Architecture with this set of stamps.

Credits :
& FDC : Sankha Samanta
Cancellation : Alka Sharma

Type : Setenant Strip of 4 Stamps, Mint Condition

Watermark : No

Colour : Multi Colour

Denomination : 500 Paise each

Printer : India Security Press, Nasik

About : 

  • Temple Architecture in India evolved over the centuries with a conservative base overlaid by decorative details which vary from region to region. These variations reflected available construction material and skills of the artisans of the area.
  • The Vishal Badri Temple, dedicated to Lord Badrinath by Adi Sankaracharya, lies in a picturesque Himalayan valley of Garhwal. The hot mineral spring of Badrinath is renowned for its spiritual and medicinal value.
  • The Mallikarjunaswamy Temple, Srisailam, Andhra Pradesh houses one of the twelve “Jyotirlingas” of Siva and one of the eighteen deities of the Mahashakti in a single complex. Located on the Nallamalai hills, near the Krishna river, its history began with the early Satavahanas, early rulers of Andhra.
  • The Tripureswari Temple is reported to have been built in 1501 A.D. by Maharaja Dhanya Manikya at Udaipur, Tripura. Dedicated to Mahashakti in her form as Tripurasundari, it reflects Tripura’s patronage of the StupaSirsa style of architecture.
  • The temple at Puri, dedicated to Lord Jagannath, began in the 12th century by Raja Chodaganga Dev and completed in the 13th century by Raja Ananga Bhima Dev, stands in the heart of the city, with an imposing spire. It carries the richness of the Kalinga style of architecture and the Lord’s Yatra is an imposing festival.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *