Back To Top

 Arunachal Pradesh
February 20, 2022

Arunachal Pradesh

A commemorative postage stamp on the 50 Years of Arunachal Pradesh, a state in Northeastern India :

Celebrating Past… Nurturing Future : Udayachal : Brahma MandalIssued by India

Issued on Feb 20, 2022

Issued for : Department of Posts is pleased to issue a Commemorative Postage Stamp on 50 Years of Arunachal Pradesh.

Credits :
Stamp/Brochure : Shri Suresh Kumar
FDC/Cancellation Cachet : Smt. Nenu Gupta

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Multi Colour

Denomination : 500 Paise

Stamps Printed : 404225

Printing Process : Wet Offset

Printer : Security Printing Press, Hyderabad

About : 

  • Arunachal Pradesh enjoyed a special identity as the North East Frontier Tract (NEFT) during the late 19th century British era. In 1954, the region was designated as NEFA through introduction of the North East Frontier (Administration) Regulation, 1954. NEFA was first brought under the Ministry of External Affairs, and in August 1965, the administration was transferred to the Ministry of Home Affairs, which supervised and controlled the region till 1972 when it gained the status of a Union Territory.
  • Modern-day Arunachal Pradesh, owes much to the vision of its founding fathers – the members of the erstwhile Agency Council, a body that functioned like the legislative assemblies of other states and was formed in December 1969. It was in the very first sitting of the Agency Council on December 3, 1969, that it was decided that NEFA’s capital should be within its boundaries. The decision to change NEFA’s name to Arunachal Pradesh was taken in the Agency Council’s second session which took place on August 10-11, 1970 in Shillong. Three names were considered – Udayachal (meaning, land of the sunrise), Brahma Mandal (the land of the Brahma) and Arunachal (the land of the rising sun). After intense discussions, the Council members unanimously selected Arunachal Pradesh as the name of the territory – a decision that was accepted by the Government of India.
  • On January 20, 1972 NEFA was rechristened as Arunachal Pradesh and was declared a Union Territory, a beginning into its self-governance. It would take another 15 years for this Union Territory to gain Statehood, which it did on February 20, 1987. Today, it is a fast developing state of 26 districts, each resplendent with its unique culture and tradition.
  • The Green State of Arunachal Pradesh has multitude of potentials which is being tapped for becoming Atma Nirbhar. In the last five decades, the state had attained a distinct mark on the map, notably in the realm of tourism. Arunachal is fast developing as a go-to adventure tourism destination with various opportunities in white river rafting, paragliding, trekking, biking destinations and wild life & bird watching activities etc.
  • The Government of Arunachal Pradesh has approved and adopted the first of its kind, ‘Pakke Tiger Reserve 2047 Declaration on Climate Change Resilient and Responsive Arunachal Pradesh’ or “Pakke Declaration” in November 2021 in alignment with COP 26 action plan. It focuses on a multi-sectoral approach to low-emission and climate-resilient development based on five broad themes or Panch Dharas aligning our annual action plan budget with SDGs.
  • The Hydropower sector has seen a boom with development of mini & micro hydels and dams all across the state. In terms of Agriculture & Horticulture sector; Arunachal Pradesh is the highest producer of Kiwi in the Country. The state is also attempting to introduce new potential fruits in the State like blue berry and walnuts which are not endemic to the state. The state is also a rich reserve for bamboos.
  • January 20, 2022 marked the 50 years of the state’s identity as Arunachal Pradesh. The state is celebrating a month long festival to commemorate it. As a testimony to the historic moment of naming of Arunachal Pradesh in Ziro on 20 January, 1972, the Celebration commenced with an inaugural ceremony at Ziro on 20 January, 2022. The Celebration will culminate at the capital, Itanagar on 20 February, 2022 marking the Valedictory celebration of 50 years of Arunachal and the initiation of 36th Statehood Day celebration.
  • The logo of the celebration has been created after conducting a competition along the theme of ‘Celebrating Past… Nurturing Future’. The logo consists of the state bird, Hornbill, the state flower, Foxtail Orchid and the current political map of Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Text : Referenced from contents provided by the proponent.
Prev Post

India-UAE : Joint Issue

Next Post

India on International Fleet Review 2022

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x