Back To Top

 Draksharamam Bhimeswara Temple
November 1, 2017

Draksharamam Bhimeswara Temple

A commemorative postage stamp on Bhimeswara Swamy temple, Draksharamam, East Godavari district, Andhra Pradesh :

Pancharama Kshetra Shakti Peetha, DhakshatapovanaIssued by India

Issued on Nov 1, 2017

Issued for : Department of Posts is pleased to issue three Commemorative Postage Stamps on Kavi Muddana, Adikavi Nannaya & Draksharamam Bhimeswara Temple.

Credits :
Stamp/FDC/Brochure : Sh. Kamleshwar Singh
Cancellation Cachet : Smt. Nenu Gupta

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Multi Colour

Denomination : 500 Paise

Stamps Printed : 500000

Printing Process : Wet Offset

Printer : Security Printing Press, Hyderabad

About : 

  • Draksharamam the divine abode of Sri Bhimeswara Swamy together with his consort Sri Manikyamba is celebrated as the Southern Kasi (Kasi of South India). This is one among the eight Sakti Pithas (Shrines). This Draksharama alone is the most prominent one among the five araamas in Andhradesa. This Swayambhu (self engendered) effulgent Linga of Bhimeswara is one among the three lingas which give the name (epithet) “Trilingadesa” to Andhradesa. This great pilgrim centre exalted in so many ways is located at a distance of eighteen miles to Kakinada, the district headquarter of East Godavari District.
  • There are eighteen Sakti Shrines in India. Five among them are located in Andhradesa. They are (1) Jogulamba in Alampur (2) Bhramaramba in Srisailam (3) Manikyamba in Draksharama (4) Durgamba in Vijayawada and (5) Puruhuthika in Pithapuram. The present Manikyamba in Draksharama is none other than “Manikye Dakha Vatike”. This Manikyamba is Yoga Sakti. She is the repertoire of all feminine beauty, lovelies, grace and elegance, of all blissfulness and blessedness, of all fortune and prosperity. Her shrine was built with Shaligrama stone (ammonite) and her statue is very unique and uncommon. There is a portico before the Mother and in it her vehicle, the lion moulded of marble. This is briefly the excellence and distinction of Draksharamam.
  • The devas killed Tarakusara and split his Amritalinga (Deathless eternal Lingam) his worshipped deity into five parts and consecrated and installed them in five different places. The places are (1) Amararamam – Modern Amaravathi in Guntur District (2) Daksharamam – Modern Draksharamam in East Godavari District (3) KumararamamSamalkot in East Godavari District (4) SomaramamGunupudi near Bhimavaram in West Godavari District (5) KsheeraramamPalakole in West Godavari District. These five are called Pancharamas from days of yore. There are many epithets to AndhradesaTilinga, Tellunga, Tennuga, Trilinga and several other names are also found. The three Sivalingas of Srisaila, Kaleswara and Draksharamam made Andhradesa Trilingadesa. There are other names also viz. Draksharamam, Dakshavati and Dakshapuram. The greatness of this pilgrim centre is described in details in Skanda and Brahmanda puranas. The great Telugu poet Srinadha “Kavi Sarvabhowma” (sovereign of poets) rendered into Telugu with rare historic facts the entire Sanskrit text of 32 chapters of Bheemakhandam that describe the greatness of this pilgrim centre. Skanda purana confirms that here only the Yagna of Daksha (sacrifice of Daksha) was destroyed. Our puranas say that Parameswara after devouring kalakuta (the deadly poison) emerged as Bhimanadha (Lord terrible) and sojourned here only. Satidevi immolated herself in yogagni (yoga fire). The Mahabharata says that Arjuna visited this place during his peregrination of holy places.
  • Text : Based on the material received from proponent.
Prev Post

Adikavi Nannaya

Next Post

Indian Cuisine

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
July 1, 2023 9:56 am

[…] Issued for : Department of Posts is pleased to issue three Commemorative Postage Stamps on Kavi Muddana, Adikavi Nannaya & Draksharamam Bhimeswara Temple. […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x