Back To Top

 P. Kakkan

A commemorative postage stamp on Kakkanji, President of Tamil Nadu Congress Committee and minister (various portfolios) in Madras state (between 1957-67) [a part of the seriesFreedom Fighters and Social Reformers‘] :

Kakkanji and Symbols of AgricultureVaidyanatha Iyer, Indulal Yagnik, Panjabrao Deshmukh & P. KakkanIssued by India

Issued on Dec 9, 1999

Issued for : The Department of Posts is happy to issue a set of stamps on these four distinguished sons of India.

Design : The first day cover design attempts to symbolise the spirit of the national movement in particular, the movement for social reform. The series pays homage to the contribution of A. Vaidyanatha Iyer, Indulal Kanaiyalal Yagnik, Dr. Punjabrao Deshmukh and P. Kakkan.

Credits :
Stamp :
 Kamleshwar Singh
First Day Cover : Alka Sharma

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Two

Denomination : 300 Paise

Overall size : 3.91 x 2.90 cms.

Printing size : 3.55 x 2.54 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Imported un w/m Adhesive Gravure Coated Stamp Paper in Sheets 50.8 x 53.5 cms.

Stamps Printed : 0.7 Million

Number per issue sheet : 35

Printing Process : Photogravure

Printer : India Security Press, Nashik

Name : P. Kakkan

Born on Jun 18, 1908 at Thumbaipatti, Melur, Madras Presidency, British India

Died on Dec 23, 1981 at Madras, India

About : 

  • The Department of Posts issued a set of four stamps to pay homage to A. Vaidyanatha Iyer, Indulal Kanaiyalal Yagnik, Dr. Punjabrao Deshmukh and P. Kakkan, who apart from playing prominent roles in the Freedom Struggle, also made significant contribution through their reformist efforts towards building of the nation in the post-independence years in crucial socio-economic and political spheres.
  • P. Kakkan (1909-1981) was drawn during his schooldays to the freedom movement, inspired by Gandhiji. For his participation in the Quit-India movement he underwent imprisonment at Alipur jail. He spearheaded the movement for temple entry of Harijans at Madurai in 1939 along with A. Vaidyanatha Iyer. He served the Indian National Congress in various capacities at the Taluk, District, State and National levels. For nearly 15 years he served as a minister in the State of Tamil Nadu, holding different portfolios. His major contributions included construction of the Mettur and Vaigai reservoirs and establishment of two Agricultural Universities. He is also remembered for the formation of Harijan Seva Sangh in different parts of Tamil Nadu which are doing yeomen service even now. He was a member of the Constituent Assembly.
  • Text : Based on material supplied by sponsors.
Prev Post

Dr. Punjabrao Deshmukh

Next Post

Thermal Power in India

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x