Back To Top

 Kuladhor Chaliha

Kuladhor Chaliha

A commemorative postage stamp on Kuladhar Chaliha, 1st Speaker of the Assam Legislative Assembly (1952-57) :

First Speaker of Assam LegislatureIssued by India

Issued on Jun 19, 1988

Description of Designs : The 60P stamp has been designed by India Security Press Nashik Road. The first day cover design has been prepared by Shri Sankha Samanta and the cancellation by Smt. Nenu Gupta.

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Multicolour

Denomination : 60 Paise

Overall size : 4.06 x 2.73 cms.

Printing size : 3.71 x 2.38 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Indigenous unwatermarked P.G. Matt coated stamp paper

Number Printed : 10,00,000

Number per issue sheet : 40

Printing Process : Photogravure

Printed : India Security Press

Name : Kuladhar Chaliha

Born on Sep 20, 1887 at Sivasagar, Assam, India

Died on Jan 19, 1963

About : 

  • Kuladhor Chaliha was born on 20th September, 1886 at Sibsagar, the son of Raibahadur Phanidhor Chaliha Kuladhor Chaliha, with Karmabir Nabin Chandra Bardoloi and Deshabhakta Tarun Ram Phukan, was one of the top-ranking leaders of the freedom movement in Assam.
  • After studying law, he joined the Assam Civil Service as an Extra Assistant Commissioner in 1913, but he resigned due to disagreement with the policy of the British Government. He took up the cause of opium prohibition in Assam; taking up preventive measures along with the late Krishna Nath Sharma, a follower of Mahatma Gandhi. He also joined the Bar at Jorhat Court and was soon known as a promising advocate.
  • After the massacre at Jalianwala Bagh in 1919, he joined the Congress under the leadership of Mahatma Gandhi. He was convicted and jailed for one year in 1921. In 1920, he was elected the first President of the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee. He joined Reverend C.P. Andrews and Horace Alexander in their opium prohibition campaign in 1928. When the Assam Legislative Council was formed in 1927, he was elected one of its Members. He was also elected to the Legislative Assembly after the death of Nabin Chandra Bardoloi. He was a member of the Constituent Assembly of India. One of the pioneer Congress Leaders of Assam, he was elected to the Assam Legislative Assembly from Katonigaon Constituency of Jorhat and remained as its Speaker from 1952-57.
  • He passed away on 19th January, 1963.
  • Text, Courtesy:Deshneta Kuladhor Chaliha Birth Centenary Celebration Committee, Jorhat.
Prev Post

Dr. Anugrah Narain Singh

Next Post

Rani Durgawati

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x