Back To Top

 India on Fifth Asian Table Tennis 1980
May 9, 1980

India on Fifth Asian Table Tennis 1980

A commemorative postage stamp on the 5th Asian Senior Table Tennis Championships (ATTU), Calcutta :

ATTU : Asian Senior Table Tennis ChampionshipsIssued by India

Issued on May 9, 1980

Issued for : The Indian Posts and Telegraphs Department is happy to commemorate the occasion with a special stamp.

Special Cancellation and Special Cover
The Indian Posts and Telegraphs Department will provide a special cancellation at the Netaji Stadium Post Office for the duration of the Championships (except on Sundays and Postal Holidays). A special cover (Price: 50 p) will also be on sale at the post office during the period. The mail orders for the special cancellation and/or special covers may be placed with the Philatelic Bureau, Calcutta-700001.

Description of Design : The stamp and the first day cover depict the table tennis game in progress. The design of the cancellation includes the graphic presentation of table tennis player as well as the inscription in Hindi and English.

Type : Stamp, Postal Used

Colour : Red Purple

Denomination : 30 Paise

Overall size : 3.91 X 2.90 cms.

Printing size : 3.55 X 2.54 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Watermark : Printed on water marked adhesive stamp paper

Number printed : 20,00,000

Number per issue sheet : 35

Printing process : Photogravure

Designed and printed at : India Security Press

About : 

  • Table Tennis, an extremely fast indoor game, is similar in principle to lawn tennis. It was apparently derived from royal indoor tennis in 1880. It was known under various names like ‘Gossima‘, ‘Ping Pong‘, etc. In 1926, the name of ‘Table Tennis‘ was adopted by the International Table Tennis FederationIt is a popular tournament sport in Asia and Europe and holds limited interest in the United States.
  • The International Table Tennis Federation was founded in Germany in January 1926. International competition was dominated by European players during the 1930s. After their resumption after World War II, man’s singles championship moved to Asia, led by Japan in 1952 with China coming on to win its first man’s singles in 1959. The other events – men’s doubles, women’s singles and doubles, and mixed doubles, and the men’s team (Swaythling Cup) and women’s team (Corbillon Cup) followed much the same pattern. The World Championships have been held in India twice, first time in 1952 in Bombay and then in Calcutta in 1975.
  • The Asian Table Tennis Union was formed in 1952. But it received recognition and acceptance by all the countries of the world during the 33rd World Championship held at Calcutta in 1975. The biennial Asian Union Championships have been held in Beijing, Yokohama, Pyongyang and Kuala Lumpur. The 5th Championships are being held in Calcutta from 10-18 May 1980. The Bengal Table Tennis Association is hosting the Championships under the aegis of the Table Tennis Federation of India.
  • The venue of the Championships is the Netaji Stadium at Calcutta. It is the largest covered stadium in the country with world class facilities. It is fully air-conditioned and has a seating capacity for about 12,000 spectators.
Prev Post

Chhatrapati Shivaji 1980

Next Post

Japanese Training Sailing Ships 1980

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x