Back To Top

 Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao

Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao

A commemorative postage stamp on the Birth Centenary of Burgula Ramkrishna Raofirst elected Chief Minister of Hyderabad State (1952-56) :

Pullamraju Ramakrishnarao (బూర్గుల రామకృష్ణారావు)Pullamraju Ramakrishnarao and Dr. Rajendra PrasadIssued by India

Issued on Mar 13, 2000

Issued for : The Department of Posts is happy to issue a commemorative stamp to mark the conclusion of birth centenary of Dr. Ramakrishna Rao.

Design : The First Day Cover portrays Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao with Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of the Republic of India.

Credits :
: Sankha Samanta
Cancellation : Alka Sharma

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Two Colour

Denomination : 300 Paise

Overall size : 2.9 x 3.9 Cms.

Printing size : 2.55 x 3.60 Cms.

Perforation : 13.5 x 13.5

Paper : Matt Chromo

Stamps Printed : 0.4 Million

Number per issue sheet : 40

Printing Process : Photo Offset

Printer : Calcutta Security Printers Ltd.

Name : Pullamraju Ramakrishnarao

Born on Mar 13, 1899 at Padakallu Village, Kalwakurthy, Hyderabad State [now in Telangana, India]

Died on Sep 15, 1967 at Hyderabad, Telangana, India

About : 

  • Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao (1899-1967) was the first elected Chief Minister of erstwhile Hyderabad State and a leader of the Freedom Movement in the state.
  • He started his career as a lawyer in Hyderabad and made a name as a prominent constitutional lawyer who never hesitated to take up the cause of freedom fighters in the courts. Later, joining the National Movement, Dr. Rao led the historic struggle against the Nizam for the merger of Hyderabad with the Indian Union along with Swami Ramanand Thirtha and other leaders. He was one of the founder members of the Hyderabad State Congress. He presided over the third Andhra Mahasabha conference at Devarkonda in 1931 and was responsible for creating a great awakening among the people of Telangana for their rights. He exhibited great leadership and organisational qualities as the first General Secretary of the state political conference and convenor of Hyderabad People’s Conference (Praja Parishad).
  • Due to his prominent role inQuit India Movement in 1942 and again for his participation in the Freedom Struggle in 1947, he was arrested by the Nizam. K.M. Munshi, the then Agent of India in Hyderabad state, spoke of his great contribution for the timely police action by India against the Nizam who ultimately surrendered to the Indian Forces on 17th September, 1948. In the first General Elections in Hyderabad State in 1952, Dr. Rao was elected from Shadnagar constituency and later took over the reign of the State as the Chief Minister. He took several significant steps for the welfare of the people, including the historic ‘land reforms‘ in the state. The passage and implementation of the famous Hyderabad Tenancy and Agricultural Act of 1950, followed in 1954 by Hyderabad Tenancy and Agricultural Lands (Amendment) Act, was an important signpost in land reforms in the country. Dr. Rao not only provided the conceptual framework for these acts but also piloted their passage and vigorously pushed through their implementation, providing tenancy rights to those who had been cultivating lands for sometime. The historic Bhoodan Movement was launched by Acharya Vinoba Bhave in the state during his tenure, as Chief Minister. He also introduced several social welfare measures in the state for the benefit of the scheduled castes, scheduled tribes and backward classes.
  • K.M. Munshi, thus eulogises the contribution of Dr. Rao :In 1956 Hyderabad with its predominantly Telugu speaking population was integrated with the state of Andhra, which had been formed in 1953. Thus was born Vishala Andhra, thanks primarily to the selfabnegation and selflessness of Ramakrishna Rao.
  • He was a multi-linguist, scholar and poet, and wrote several books and articles of which only some are published.
  • From 22nd November, 1956 to July 1960, Dr. Ramakrishna Rao was the Governor of Kerala and subsequently Governor of Uttar Pradesh till April 1962. He was later elected to Rajya Sabha, which he served from 1962 to 1966. He passed away on the 14th September, 1967.
  • Text : Based on material supplied by sponsors.
Prev Post

Patna Medical College

Next Post

Potti Sriramulu

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Kripalani, Ram Ganesh Gadkari, Shri Kakasaheb Kalelkar, Shri H. V. Pataskar, Shri N. V. Gadgil,  Shri B. Ramkrishna Rao, Acharya Atre, Shri B. S. Mardhekar and many others who have been at the helm of affairs in various […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x