Back To Top

 India on Fifth World Cup Hockey, Bombay
December 29, 1981

India on Fifth World Cup Hockey, Bombay

A commemorative postage stamp on the 5th World Cup Hockey Championship, Bombay :

Stylized Hockey Players and Fifth Men's Hockey World Cup EmblemIssued by India

Issued on Dec 29, 1981

Issued for : Indian P & T Department is privileged to issue a postage stamp to commemorate this event.

Description of Designs : The stamp, designing the logo of Fifth World Cup Hockey, was designed by Charanjit Lal. First day cover shows the Mascot. Cancellation was designed by Charanjit Lal.

Type : Stamp, Postal Used

Colour : Multicolour

Denomination : 100 Paise

Overall size : 3.91 x 2.90 cms.

Printing size : 3.55 x 2.54 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Unwatermarked adhesive stamp paper

Number printed : 20,00,000

Number per issue sheet : 35

Printing process : Photogravure

Printed at : India Security Press

About : 

  • India and Pakistan jointly initiated the move to have a hockey competition at world level outside the Olympic tournament. The International Hockey Federation (FIH) approved the holding of such games and the World Cup Hockey Tournament thus started from 1971.
  • Pakistan donated a trophy for this competition. The gold and silver trophy comprises a silver cup, carrying an intricate floral design, surmounted by a globe in silver and gold depicting the world, carrying on top of it a ball and hockey stick, perfect in design and symmetry. The current value of the trophy could be in the region of Rs. 20,00,000.
  • Spain hosted the inaugural World Cup Hockey Tournament in Barcelona in 1971. Ten nations qualified for the competition which was spread over ten days (October 15-24). The semi-finals were played in Tarrasa, the birth place of Spanish Hockey. Pakistan emerged as the champions with a one-nil victory over Spain, who beat them 3-2 in a pool match. India won the bronze medal.
  • The Second World Cup was held in Amsterdam from August 24 to September 2, 1973. Hosts Holland prevailed over two-up India in the tie-breaker of an exciting final. West Germany beat Pakistan by a solitary goal to finish third.
  • India was originally scheduled to host the Third Cup in Bombay in 1975. But the FIH, at its meeting in Cannes (France), decided to shift the venue to Kuala Lumpur. Skipper Ajitpal Singh masterminded a memorable rally for one-down India to triumph over Pakistan by the odd goal of three in a nail-biting final that was a real hockey classic.
  • The host nation does not automatically qualify for the World Cup. A concession was made in the case of Argentina and the Fourth World Cup in Buenos Aires in 1977 was enlarged to include fourteen nations. India fared disastrously and finished sixth. Pakistan regained the gold medal. Holland took the silver and Australia the bronze.
  • The first nine teams in Buenos Aires automatically qualified for the Fifth World Cup to be staged in Bombay from December 29, 1981 to January 12, 1982. The first three nations in the Inter-Continent Cup, held in Kuala Lumpur earlier in the year, made up the twelve participants. They are the USSR, Malaysia and New Zealand, Olympic Champions in Montreal in 1976.
  • The World Cup is now held every four years. The FIH had decided that in future the first six teams in the previous World Cup will automatically qualify for the next competition. The remaining places will be filled by the first six teams in the Inter-Continent Cup.
  • The twelve participating nations are split into two pools. The pool matches are played on a league basis. The winners and runners-up of each pool meet in cross playoffs in the semi-finals. The winners battle for the gold; the losers for the bronze. Cross play-offs in groups of four determine the minor placings.
  • (Text by courtesy of sponsors).
Prev Post

King Birendra’s 37th Birthday

Next Post

Visit Nepal Series 1981

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Olympics. It is for the third time that India is hosting this tournament starting organized it in 1982 at Mumbai and in 2010 at New Delhi. This year’s tournament will make India only the second nation to host […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x