Back To Top

 India on World Cup Football Mexico
May 31, 1986

India on World Cup Football Mexico

A commemorative postage stamp on the 1986 FIFA World Cupheld in Mexico from 31st May to 29th June 1986 :

1986 FIFA World Cup (Copa Mundial de Fútbol México '86)Issued by India

Issued on May 31, 1986

Issued for : The Department of Posts is happy to issue a special stamp on the occasion of World Cup Football ’86 to be held in Mexico.

Description of Designs : A special stamp of 500 P denomination has been designed by Kumari Vandana Joshi. The first day Cover and the cancellation design has been prepared by Smt. Alka Sharma.

Type : Stamp, Postal Used

Colour : Multi colour

Denomination : 500 Paise

Overall size : 4.06 x 2.73 cms.

Printing size : 3.71 x 2.38 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Unwatermarked P.G. matt coated gummed paper

Number printed : 15,00,000

Number per issue sheet : 40

Printing process : Photogravure

Printed at : India Security Press

About : 

  • Interest in international football began in 1872, when the first match between any two countries was played. This was Scotland Vs England in Glasgow. The idea of the World Cup was, however, conceived in France. Its true parents were, indeed, two Frenchmen: Jules Rimet, after whom it was first named and Henri DelaunayRimet was the President of the French Federation FFF for 30 years from its beginning in 1919 and President of FIFA, the Federation Internationale des Football Association, from 1920 to 1954.
  • The very first meeting of FIFA took place in Paris in 1904, and decided that it alone had the right to organise a world championship. This right was not to be exercised for twenty six years. In 1920, at FIFA’s Antwerp Congress, concurrent with the Olympic Games, the idea of a World Cup, previously much debated, was accepted in principle. In 1924, at the Paris Olympics, the FIFA meeting discussed it in more serious detail, while a dazzling and hitherto obscure Uruguayan side walked off with the trophy of soccer tournament.
  • In 1930, the first World Cup Tournament was held in which thirteen countries took part, only three being from Europe. Today, there are no fewer than 150 nations who are members of FIFA, the world governing body whose headquarters are in Zurich.
  • The World Cup with its finals every four years following the example of Olympic Games is firmly ensconced in the world of sports and is now simply called the FIFA World Cup. The competition has been held in Uruguay (1930), Italy (1934), France (1938), Brazil (1950), Switzerland (1954), Sweden (1958), Chile (1962), England (1966), Mexico (1970), West Germany (1974), Argentina (1978), Spain (1982) and now is scheduled for Mexico in 1986.
Prev Post

Government S. E. College, Bhawalpur

Next Post

Pakistan Independence Day 1986

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x