Back To Top

 Indian Science Congress Association

Indian Science Congress Association

A commemorative postage stamp on the 75th Session of the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA), a premier scientific organisation at Kolkata, West Bengal :

ISCA, Kolkata, West BengalIssued by India

Issued on Jan 7, 1988

Issued for : The Deptt. of Posts is privileged to issue a commemorative stamp on the 75th Session of the Science Congress.

Description of Designs : The multi-coloured stamp depicts the experiment of Sir C. V. Raman & K. S. Krishnan who observed with the help of complimentary filters that there were frequencies in the scattered light which were lower than the frequencies in the filtered light. The Bodhi Tree in the stamp represents the universal growth of knowledge in the enlightenment of human beings. The background of the stamp shows the visible spectrum of the sunlight. The design for this stamp has been provided by Indian Science Congress. The first day cover represents the logo of the Indian Science Congress Association. The designs for the first day cover & cancellation are prepared by Shrimati Nenu Bagga.

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Multi colour

Denomination : 400 Paise

Overall size : 4.06 X 2.73 cms.

Printing size : 3.71 X 2.38 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Imported unwatermarked adhesive gravure coated stamp paper

Number Printed : 15,00,000

Number per issue sheet : 40

Printing Process : Photogravure

Printed : India Security Press

About : 

  • The idea to form an association of Indian Scientists was mooted first in 1910 by two British chemists J. L. Simonsen and P. S. MacMahon. The proposal received a ready response from eminent scientists and educationists like Sir Asutosh Mookerjee, Sir Jagdish Chandra Bose and Sir P. C. Ray. Indian intellectuals had a very strong opinion that future progress of the country would mainly depend on the development of science and technology in India. Consequently, many eminent scientists and educationists met at a conference held at Asiatic Society of Bengal on November 2, 1912 and decided that management of the Science Congress, to be held annually, be undertaken by the Asiatic Society of Bengal. Consequently, the Indian Science Congress Association was established in 1914 in Calcutta as a registered society with the objectives which, inter-alia included “to advance and promote the cause of science in India”.
  • The first annual session of the Science Congress was held from Jan 15 to Jan 17, 1914 at the premises of the Asiatic Society in Calcutta under the Presidentship of Hon’ble Justice Sir Asutosh Mookerjee, the then Vice Chancellor of Calcutta University. 105 Scientists from India and abroad participated. 35 papers on different subjects were presented. From the modest beginning, the Indian Science Congress Association had over its 75 years of existence gown into a formidable association of Scientists and Technologists. Since its inception the annual session of the Indian Science Congress Association has been held every year under the Presidentship of a distinguished man of science.
Prev Post

Pandit Hriday Nath Kunzru

Next Post

Asian Pacific Dental Congress 1988

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India attended the 34th Annual Session of the of the Indian Science Congress and the first session after Independence, held at Delhi from 3-8 January, 1947, as a General […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x