Back To Top

 Bhupen Hazarika 2016

A commemorative postage stamp on ‘Sudhakantha‘ Bhupen Hazarika, an Indian Assamese playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet and film-maker [a part of the seriesLegendary Singers of India‘] :

Issued by India

Issued on Dec 30, 2016

Issued for : Department of Posts is happy to release a set of 10 commemorative postage stamps on Legendary Singers of India.

Credits :
/ FDC : Sankha Samanta
Cancellation Cachet : Alka Sharma

Type : Miniature SheetMint Condition

Colour : Multi Colour

Denomination : 500 Paise each

Stamps Printed : 0.3 Million each

Miniature Sheet : 0.15 Million

Printing Process : Wet Offset

Printer : Security Printing Press, Hyderabad

Name : Bhupen Hazarika

Born on Sep 8, 1926 at Sadiya, Assam, British India

Died on Nov 5, 2011 at Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

About : 

  • Dr. Bhupen Hazarika (8 September 1926 – 5 November 2011) was a poet, music composer, singer, actor, journalist, author and film-maker of high repute born in Assam. Bhupen Hazarika began his career in films as a child actor in the second talkie film to be made in the pioneering years of 1939, Indramalati. After completing his education and leaving his job as a teacher, he went to Kolkata where he established himself as a successful music director and singer. During that period, he made several award winning Assamese films such as Shakuntala, Pratidhwani, etc. and composed evergreen music for many Assamese films. He was also considered as a trend setter in Bengali music. As a singer, he was known for his baritone voice and diction; as a lyricist, he was known for poetic compositions and parables which touched on themes ranging from romance to social and political commentary; and as a composer, for his use of folk music. Ek Pal (1986), Rudaali (1993) and Daman: A Victim of Martial Violence (2001) are some major hindi films to his credit. Bhupen Hazarika also composed music for films from Bangladesh which got international acclaim. He was awarded the Padamshree in 1977 for his outstanding contribution to the field of culture in India.
  • Text : Based on the material available on Internet.
Prev Post

Geeta Dutt 2016

Next Post

Happy New Year 2017

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Birju Maharaj, Ammannur Madhava Chakyar, Badal Sircar, Vijay Tendulkar, Balamurali Krishna, Bhupen Hazarika, Chairman and Shyamanand Jalan, Vice-Chairman of the Sangeet Natak […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x