Back To Top

 Nepalese Mountain Series
February 18, 1961

Nepalese Mountain Series

A set of three commemorative postage stamps on the Himalayan Mountain Peaks of Nepal : Machhapuchhre (in Annapurna Himalayas), Sagarmatha (Mount Everest) and Mansalu (Kutang) :

Machhapuchchhre (माछापुच्छ्रे) : Annapurna HimalayasSagarmatha (सगरमाथा) : Chomolungma (Zhumulangma)Kutang (मनास्लु) : Mansiri Himal : 8th highest mountain in the worldIssued by Nepal

Issued on 196061

Type : Stamps, Postal Used

Denomination : 5, 10 and 40 Paisa

Colour :
5 P – claret & brown
10 P – ultra & rose lilac
40 P – violet & red brown

About : 

    • Sagarmatha, known as Mount Everest is in the eastern part of Nepalese Himalayan mountain range. It is the highest peak in Nepal and also in the whole world. It rises up to the unparalleled height of 29,002 feet, which is nearly five and a half miles. Its polar height, colossal snows, herculean winds, unearthly cold and diamond-dazzlement present a wonderful dream of sublimity, colour, beauty, virility, life and adventure combined in a reality. Sagarmatha was not known to outside world before 1849 when its exact height and position was found out by a survey, though even prior to this the native people worshipped it as the lofty abode of Lord Shiva. It is then that the thrilling story of struggle between man and this super-mountain began. For a century after its first survey all human attempts to reach its top have been defeated until 29th May, 1953 when Tenzing Norkey, a son of the soil with his comrade, Edmund Hillary placed Nation’s Flag on its towering height.
    • Mount Machhapuchhre, which literally means the ‘fish-tailed‘, is considered to be one of the exceptionally beautiful mountains of the world. It is situated at a distance of 19 miles north of Pokhara, the Lake District of Nepal. It rises up to the height of 22958 feet.
    • 26658 ft. high Mount Mansalu, is one of the famous Himalayan peaks of Nepal. It is situated at a distance of 32 miles north of Kunchha, between the two well-known districts, Pokhara and Gorkha, in western Nepal.
Prev Post


Next Post

India on First Aerial Post (1911-61)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x