Back To Top

 Pakistan World Cup Hockey Champions 1982
January 31, 1982

Pakistan World Cup Hockey Champions 1982

Complete set of 2 nos. of commemorative postage stamp on the Awareness Campaign for World Cup Hockey Champions – 1982 :

1982 Men's Hockey World CupBombay Hockey World Cup : Pakistan's Victory in 1982Issued by Pakistan

Issued on Jan 31, 1982

Issued for : Pakistan Post Office is issuing two commemorative postage stamps of the denomination of Re. 1/- each to commemorate the victory of Pakistan in the 5th World Cup Hockey Tournament.

Designer : Adil Salahuddin

Type : Stamps, Postal Used

Denomination : Re. 1 (for both the designs)

Colours : Yellow, blue, red & black

Size of stamps : 35.20 x 50.80 mm

Size of print : 31.20 x 46.80 mm

Perforation : 13 C

Quantity : 2,50,000 (each design) total : 5 lac

No. of Stamps in a sheet : 50 (25 stamps of each design)

Process of printing : Litho Offset

Printers : Pakistan Security Printing Corporation, Karachi

About : 

  • The First World Cup Hockey Tournament was held in Barcelona in 1971 on the initiative of Pakistan Hockey Federation. Pakistan Team by virtue of their magnificent performance won the prestigious Cup.
  • Pakistan Hockey Team repeated their performance in the 4th World Cup Hockey Tournament held in Argentina in 1978 when they defeated Holland by 3 goals to 2 in the Final.
  • Again in 1981 Pakistan Hockey team participated in the 5th World Cup Hockey Tournament held in Bombay from 29th December, 1981 to 12th January, 1982. Pakistan, West Germany, New Zealand, Spain, Poland, Argentina, Holland, India, Russia, Australia, England and Malaysia took part in this tournament.
  • In the opening match against Spain Pakistan won comfortably by 4-1. In their second pool match against New Zealand Pakistan team set a new record for the highest number of goals scored by a team in the World Cup, improving their own record of nine goals against Argentina at Buenos Aires in 1978. Pakistan team won all their pool matches and scored maximum points. The results of the pool matches are as under : 
    Pakistan W. Germany N. Zealand Spain Poland Argentina
    Pakistan 5-3 12-3 4-1 4-1 6-1
    W. Germany 3-5 2-1 1-1 5-3 2-0
    N. Zealand 3-12 1-2 2-0 1-0 3-5
    Spain 1-4 1-1 0-2 0-1 4-2
    Poland 1-4 3-5 0-1 1-0 2-1
    Argentina 1-6 0-2 5-3 2-4 1-2
  • In the Finals against West Germany Pakistan won convincingly by 3-1 thus extending their uninterrupted reign to eight years. The margin does not reflect the true character of the victory. Pakistan‘s domination was total and complete barring the first five minutes when the Germans scored the only goal of the match against Pakistan.
  • Issued by The Director-General, Pakistan Post Office, Islamabad.
Prev Post

India on Telephone Services 1982

Next Post

India on World Congress of Soil Science 1982

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x