Back To Top

 India on Scout Movement 1967
December 27, 1967

India on Scout Movement 1967

A commemorative postage stamp on Diamond Jubilee of Scout Movement :

Scout Bugle, Badge and SaluteIssued by India

Issued on Dec 27, 1967

Issued for : The Posts & Telegraphs Department feels pleasure in bringing out a special postage stamp on the 27th December, 1967 on the occasion of the 5th All India Jamboree which coincides with the Diamond Jubilee of the Scout movement.

Type : Stamp, Postal Used

Colour : Burnt Sienna

Denomination : 15 Paisa

Overall Size : 4.06 X 2.28 cms.

Printing Size : 3.80 X 2.00 cms.

Perforation : 14 x 14½

Watermark : Printed on unwatermarked paper

Number Printed : 20,00,000

Number per issue Sheet : 50

Printing Process : Photogravure

Designed and Printed at : India Security Press

About : 

  • Scouting is a game for boys, under the leadership of boys, in which elder brothers can give their younger brothers healthy environment and encourage them to healthy activities such as will help them to develop Citizenship.”
    The above statement of Baden Powell, the founder of the movement sums up the ideals and objectives of scouting.
  • Scouting which has now become so popular and widespread started in 1907 when Baden Powell ran his first experimental camp with a group of boys at Brownsea Island off the south coast of England. The movement spread to various parts of the world and had a phenomenal success within a short time. 
  • In India, isolated groups came to be started around 1910. There was, however, no organisation to knit them together. The three major associations, The Boy Scouts Association in India, The Hindusthan Scouts Association and the Girl Guides Association which were doing good work in various parts of the country were united under one organisation in 1950-51. The name of the amalgamated association is The Bharat Scouts & Guides. Though the national organisation is unified for boys and girls, the Scout Section is affiliated to the Boy Scouts World Bureau and the Guide Section to the World Association of Girl Guides & Girl Scouts. 
  • The movement is divided into three major branches according to the age groups, irrespective of caste, creed and religion. The Cub/Bulbul for boys/girls of 7 to 11 years; the Scouts/Guides for boys/girls of 11 to 17 years and the Rovers/Rangers for boys/girls of 17 to 23 years. There are also six special branches of the movement viz. Handicapped Scouts/Guides, Deep Sea Scouts, Sea Scouts, Air Scouts, Senior Scouts and Former Scouts/Guides. The movement imparts training and offers practice in carrying out its Ten Laws: The Law of Honour, Loyalty, Usefulness, Friendship, Courtesy, Kindness to animals, Obedience, Cheerfulness, Thrift and Cleanliness both in body and mind. The boy or girl has to live up to the following pledge :
    To do my duty to God and my Country
    To help other people at all times
    To obey the Scout/Guide Law“.
Prev Post

Rashbehari Basu

Next Post

Nepal on World Scouts 1967

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x