Back To Top

 Acharya Kripalani

Acharya Kripalani

A commemorative postage stamp on the Birth Centenary of Acharya J. B. KriplaniPresident of the Indian National Congress during transfer of power in India, 1947 : Jiwatram Bhagwandas Kripalani

Issued by India

Issued on Nov 11, 1989

Type : Stamp, Mint Condition

Colour : Multicolour

Denomination : 60 Paise

Overall size : 4.06 x 2.73 cms.

Printing size : 3.71 x 2.38 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Imported un W/M Adh. Gr. Coated stamp paper

Number Printed : 10,00,000

Number per issue sheet : 40

Printing Process : Photogravure

Printed : India Security Press

Name : Jivatram Bhagwandas Kripalani

Born on Nov 11, 1888 at Hyderabad, Sindh, British India [now in Pakistan]

Died on Mar 19, 1982 at Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India

About : 

  • J.B. Kripalani, popularly known as Acharya Kripalani, was born at Hyderabad, Sind, on 11th November 1888. His academic career was marked by unrest due to his frequent involvement with nationalistic ideas. Having obtained an M.A. in History and Economics he began teaching in 1912 and continued in different places till 1927. In 1917 he first came into contact with Gandhiji during the Champaran Satyagraha which turned him into a fully dedicated nationalist. From 1927 onwards he was engrossed in Ashram work in Gujarat and in the political movements of the Indian National Congress. During his days at Gujarat Vidyapeeth he came to be known as “Acharya“, a name that stayed with him during his lifetime. He served as a General Secretary of the Indian National Congress from 1934 to 1946 and was arrested several times for his part in the National Movements.
  • He was elected Member of the Constituent Assembly of India from 1946 to 1951. He resigned from the Congress in 1951. He resigned from Praja Socialist Party also in 1954 and remained an Independent for the rest of his Parliamentary life. He was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1952, 1957, 1963 and 1967.
  • The Acharya passed away on 19th March, 1982.
  • (Material for text. Dictionary of National Biography Ed. Shri S.P. Sen).
Prev Post

Acharya Narendra Deo 1989

Next Post

India on Jawaharlal Nehru 1989

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Quit India Movement when he was detained in Ahmednagar Fort along with Pandit Nehru, Sardar Patel, J.B. Kripalani and others. Sardar Patel commended him thus, “Harekrushna Mahtab, a true patriot in that, he […]

July 18, 2023 8:49 am

[…] began to function on these lines with Dr. Bhagwan Dass as the Kulapati, as well as the Principal. Acharya J. B. Kripalani, Acharya Narendra Deva, Shri Sri Prakasa, Dr. Sampurnanand and Shri Birbal Singh joined the […]

November 21, 2023 3:13 pm

[…] Principals inspired many students to be at the centre stage of freedom struggle, Usha Mehta, Acharya Kriplani, S.A. Dange, Aloo Dastoor, B.G. Kher to mention a […]

February 14, 2024 7:59 am

[…] distinguished alumni of the College include Veer Savarkar, Acharya Kripalani, Ram Ganesh Gadkari, Shri Kakasaheb Kalelkar, Shri H. V. Pataskar, Shri N. V. Gadgil,  Shri B. […]

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x