Back To Top

 India on SAARC – 10 Years of Service to the People

India on SAARC – 10 Years of Service to the People

A commemorative postage stamp on the 10th Anniversary of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC Year of Literacy) :

South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)SAARC Secretariat, Kathmandu, NepalIssued by India

Issued on Dec 8, 1996

Issued for : The Department of Post is privileged to release a commemorative postal stamp to mark this occasion.

Credits :
Stamp Design : Vikram Mehra, Lalit Kala Academy
SAARC Secretariate
Cancellation : Alka Sharma

Type : Stamp, Postal Used

Colour : Multicolour

Denomination : 1100 Paise

Overall size : 3.50 x 3.50 Cms.

Printing size : 3.15 x 3.15 Cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Paper : Imported un w/m Adhesive Gravure Coated Stamp Paper in Sheets 50.8 x 53.5 cms.

Stamps Printed : 0.7 million

Number per issue sheet : 36

Printing Process : Photogravure

Printer : India Security Press, Nasik

About : 

  • The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) comprises of seven countries of the region namely, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. On 8th December, 1996, SAARC completes ten years of its existence.
  • The primary objectives of SAARC are to promote the welfare of the people of South Asia, to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region. In pursuit of its primary objectives, SAARC launched the Integrated Programme of Action through the mechanism of eleven Technical Committees dealing with various fields that are central to the SAARC process of cooperation – Agriculture, Communications, Education, Culture and Sports, Environment and Meteorology, Health, Population Activities and Child Welfare, Prevention of Drug Trafficking and Drug Abuse, Rural Development, Science and Technology, Tourism, Transport, and Women in Development.
  • SAARC has taken major initiatives for poverty eradication in South Asia, preferably by the year 2002 through an agenda of action which include strategies for social mobilisation, policies of decentralised agricultural development and small-scale labour intensive industrialisation, and human development. Initiatives have also been taken in specific areas of common concern, notably dealing with children, women in development, disabled persons, youth and environment. The decade 1991-2000 A.D. has been designated as the “SAARC Decade of the Girl Child”, and the current year, 1996, has further been designated as the SAARC Year of Literacy.
  • Four Regional Conventions/Agreements notably on food security, narcotics drugs control, and preferential trading arrangements have been agreed upon between the countries of South Asia under the SAARC umbrella. Initiations have been taken towards removing of tariff and non-tariff barriers to trade amongst countries of South Asia. SAARC has agreed that member States should strive for the realisation of the South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) preferably by the year 2000 but before 2005 A.D. The SAARC Chamber of Commerce and Industry, which is recognised as a Regional Apex Body of SAARC also plays a major role in the promotion of economic and trade exchanges between South Asian Countries.
  • In the last decade, SAARC has, thus, grown from its modest beginnings into a vibrant regional organisation dedicated to its primary objective – to serve the people.
  • Text Source : Ministry of External Affairs.
Prev Post

2 Grenadiers of India

Next Post

Indo-Kazakh Cooperation : Abai Konunbaev

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x