Back To Top

 Rajya Sabha 1977
June 21, 1977

Rajya Sabha 1977

A commemorative postage stamp on the 25th Anniversary of the Rajya Sabhaupper house of Parliament of India :

Rajya Sabha ChamberIssued by India

Issued on Jun 21, 1977

Issued for : The Posts and Telegraphs Department feels privileged to bring out a commemorative postage stamp to mark the 25 years of life and incidentally the 101st Session of this House of the Indian Parliament.

Description of Design : The design of the stamp shows a view of the Chamber of the Rajya Sabha in the Parliament House.

Type : Stamp, Postal Used

Colour : Multi Colour

Denomination : 25 Paise

Overall size : 3.91 X 2.90 cms.

Printing size : 3.43 X 2.54 cms.

Perforation : 13 x 13

Watermark : Unwatermarked paper

Number printed : 30,00,000

Number per issue sheet : 35

Printing Process : Photogravure

Designed and printed at : India Security Press

About : 

  • Parliament of India consists of two Houses, namely, the Council of States and the House of the People.
  • After the first General Elections held in 1952, the Council of States, better known as Rajya Sabha, was constituted on April 3,1952 and met under the Chairmanship of Vice-President Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan for its first Session on May 13, 1952. Rajya Sabha has completed 25 years of its life and the issue of this commemorative stamp is part of the celebrations to mark the occasion.
  • The total number of members of the Rajya Sabha which on its initial constitution was 216, is at present 244-226 representatives from the States which are constituent units of the Indian Union, 6 from the Union Territories and 12 nominated members. The Rajya Sabha, unlike the Lok Sabha, is not subject to dissolution but one-third of its members retire on the expiration of every second year. The continuity of the Rajya Sabha acquires a special significance when the Lok Sabha stands dissolved. It is then that the Rajya Sabha discharges the obligations of Parliament to look after the nation’s interests.
  • During the 25 years of its life, Rajya Sabha has done valuable work in the Legislative as well as other fields of Parliamentary activity and has more than fulfilled the expectations of the framers of our Constitution. The Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha together represent the majesty and sovereignty of the Indian people.
Prev Post

Japan’s Admission to the UPU

Next Post

Indian Flowers 1977

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x