Back To Top

 Uttar Pradesh Legislature
January 8, 2013

Uttar Pradesh Legislature

A commemorative postage stamp on the 125 years of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly (U.P. Vidhan Sabha), bicameral legislature of Uttar Pradesh :

उत्तर प्रदेश विधान सभाIssued by India

Issued on Jan 8, 2013

Issued for : Department of Posts is happy to commemorate the 125 years of Uttar Pradesh legislature by issuing a Commemorative Postage Stamp.

Credits :
/FDC/Cancellation :
 Alka Sharma

Type : StampMint Condition

Colour : Multi colour

Denomination : 500 Paise

Stamps Printed : 0.41 Million (0.1 million for the proponent)

Printing Process : Wet Offset

Printer : India Security Press, Nasik

About : 

  • The history of Uttar Pradesh legislature goes back to the British Era. In 1861, the Indian Councils Act was passed for the first time under which Indians were associated with the business of legislation. Under this Act, the Governor General was empowered to create provincial councils for North Western Province, Oudh (now Uttar Pradesh) and Punjab, and to create new provinces and appoint Lt-Governors for them.
  • For North Western Province and Oudh, nine members were nominated, of whom three were non-official. The council could consider legislative matters placed before them by the Government. The first meeting of the Legislative Council of Oudh was held at the Thornhill Memorial, Allahabad on Saturday, January 8, 1887 with the Lt. Governor presiding. The state legislature has thus completed 125 years on January 8, 2012.
  • The name ‘Uttar Pradesh‘ was given to the state after independence on 12th January, 1950, before which it was called ‘United Province‘. The year 1952 marked a watershed year in the history of democratic India, when the first General Elections of independent India were held and millions of people went to the polls to exercise the democratic right granted to them by the Constitution of India to choose the country’s legislators. Since then, Uttar Pradesh legislature has been constituted sixteen times. Currently the 16th Vidhan Sabha is in existence in Uttar Pradesh.
  • Uttar Pradesh has a bicameral legislature – a Legislative Assembly and a Legislative Council. Uttar Pradesh was reorganised in November, 2000 through an Act of the Central Government, the successor state is known as Uttarakhand, comprising 13 districts of northern Himalayan region. Before reorganisation of the state of Uttar Pradesh, the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly consisted of 425 elected and 1 Anglo-Indian nominated members. At present the Uttar Pradesh legislature consists of 404 members in Vidhan Sabha and 100 members in the Legislative Council.
  • Uttar Pradesh with the largest state legislature and largest number of Lok Sabha members has always played a momentous role in the Indian political arena. The State has the distinction of giving eight Prime Ministers to the country starting with Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.
  • Text : Based on the material provided by the proponent.
Prev Post

PG Institute of Medical Education & Research

Next Post

Ghadar Movement

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x